Now, It’s Time to See If It Works

I thought I said my peace with it, but it feels like I’m talking to a wall.

In 2010, I wrote that I am my own health care system. I wrote this in response to the passage of the Affordable Care Act (ACA). I need to do what I need to do to take care of myself.

Not all health care plans are perfect, and not all will cover everyone, which is what too many people hope the ACA will do.

This past Thursday, political columnist Howard Fineman highlighted a disturbing fact during his appearance in the first hour of the Tony Kornheiser Show in regards to the ACA, in which a major component, the insurance exchange part of the bill, goes into effect today.

Fineman pointed out that 70% of Americans do not understand what this health care bill is supposed to do, how it will affect them, et cetera.

If 70% of the American public are still in the dark on how the ACA will be put into action, then our government has done a very shabby job of explaining something they put together.

Even worse, a recent poll discovered that if you mention “Obamacare”, it provoked a negative reaction, but if you mention “Affordable Care Act” it elicited a better reaction.

The people who were polled were unaware that “Obamacare” and “Affordable Care Act” was one in the same.

Misinformation has done us a disservice once again.

After all, how hard is it to understand, much less try to read 2,000+ pages of a plan or bill, when it might sound like this?

Did you understand what Sir Humphrey said? I didn’t think so.

The only thing that has come close to explaining any part of the ACA was Trader Joe’s. They cut through the mumbo-jumbo by describing each possible scenario with respects to the insurance exchange.

There are legitimate questions that citizens do have about the marketplace exchange, that Fineman lays out (his segment begins at the 15:50 mark of Hour 1).

I don’t usually agree with Fineman, but he is one of a handful of people who makes an effort to make all of this understandable.

After re-reading my post from 2010, my opinion hasn’t changed with regards to the ACA. If it works, fine. If it doesn’t work, review it, tweak it, and run it again. I’m not holding my breath, because I’m going to take care of myself.

People who need health care services are not going to wait and hope that a program will kick in. They are looking for care now.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

