Update from “Reset”

Thankful to see this skyline, family, and friends. It could have been much worse.

I wanted to give you an update on a blog I wrote on September 26th, titled “Reset”, where I wrote about my recent diagnosis of proliferative (advanced stage) diabetic retinopathy, a condition that is caused by damage to blood vessels of the retina due to long-term and/or poor control of Type 1 or Type 2 diabetes.

The encouraging news is that the treatments (laser and medicinal injection in both eyes) have dramatically reduced the swelling and eliminated most of the damaged blood vessels.  Now, I need to stress that the treatments does not cure diabetic retinopathy, only to slow down and stop the progression of further retinopathy for the time being.

You could suggest that I’m back to normal, but what is normal these days?  What is the “new” normal, as some people defined the period after the 2001 domestic attacks?  In my view, you try to get to as close to normal as you can.  It doesn’t mean that everything will return to what it was.  It doesn’t work that way.

There is a sense of newness, sort of the start of a new chapter where the story starts to get weird, with its twisted plots.

Nevertheless, life has resumed to its normal pace.  I can drive, with the restriction of no freeways, hopefully until Christmas; limited schedule at work with weekly treatments; my A1c is down nearly 50%, and I feel like my old self again.

Well, not entirely my old self.  I’m 36 and as an adult, you have to make some adjustments when it comes to ensuring that your health isn’t taking a leap off of the “fiscal cliff”, if you catch my drift.

If there is anything that is thankful is that my vision is improving each day.  So, I can’t use that as an excuse when it comes to resuming full-time with this blog.

I have a lot of guardian angels around me, that’s for sure.

To that, I give thanks to all of you.

One thought on “Update from “Reset”

  1. The trials and tribulations of diabetes never cease. I too, am a type 1. I was diagnosed 5 yrs ago at age 35. In many ways it has been a blessing. It has changed my life. There is never a moment during the day that does not go by that I am not thinking something sugar related. I lost over a 100 lbs and quit smoking. It spurred me on. I never thought I’d do that. But since I did..I wondered what else I could do. So I put myself back into college. I am a nurse now and proud to be enrolling again to further my education. But it can be frustrating, too. It can be difficult to stay positive. At times I feel like throwing in the towel. Counting carbs and making myself go for a run or walk even when I don’t want to. The one gift diabetes has given me is to not take anything for granted. So there are rarely any days that go by of feeling like I did nothing; since my health could change on a whim’s notice. I go to work now for the first time ever feeling like I do something important and leaving with a smile knowing it counted. A single woman with diabetes.

Leave a Reply

