I Don’t Agree With Him, But Pass Me That Bucket Of Chicken

As a listener, it is extremely important to listen to information that is being relayed, and at times, hear an opinion or two about a certain situation or topic.

My personal rule is this:  if you voice an opinion that I disagree, or agree with, I will not be upset by it.  In other words, I’m not going to revolt about what you said.  I respect where you stand on a topic.

That’s being an adult.

It’s a sad commentary when I have to write this:  both sides of the Chik-Fil-A matter need to take a chill pill.

They’re both sounding ridiculous as hell…over one person’s opinion.

Keep your hands off my chicken, yo.

I’m not bothered at all by the Chik-Fil-A’s CEO position on gay marriages.  That’s his opinion.  But what is bothersome is the over-reaction and the silliness that has gotten out of hand over this.  Boycotts, people lining up to order chicken in support of (or just to mug for the cameras), and people trying politicize and rationalize a reason not to visit a chain of fast-food joints serving, mainly, chicken.

I’m going stereotype here:  I’m a brother, and if you stand between me and a plate of chicken, I don’t care if you’re pro-gay or anti-gay, you will get out of the way…or I’ll have to bull-rush you.

I disagree with his stance, but that’s not going to make me stay away from Chik-Fil-A. His opinion has no bearing on me.  The chicken in the oven doesn’t have an opinion on gay marriages.  That chicken is being cooked to be eaten, not to offer an editorial.

If my empty stomach is growling, it doesn’t mean that if I head to Chick-Fil-A, Americana, or Gusto Pizza, I’m going to hurt someone’s feelings.

I’m hungry, damnmit.

For those of who you are throwing a blanket over the employees, stop it.  How do you really know that the 17-year old kid behind that Chik-Fil-A counter agrees with what the CEO said?  Have you asked him or her, or did you just decided on the spot that the kid doesn’t like gays?  The kid probably doesn’t give two rips about what the CEO or you feel about gay marriages.

All he or she cares about is doing their job, getting paid, and rolling with the crew.

In radio and on television, there is a disclaimer that is always read before any talk show or topical program begins:

“The views expressed by the (host/owner/etc), does not represent the views of (entity, place, media outlet).” 

If most of us would take that disclaimer into consideration when someone expresses their opinion, then this wouldn’t be such a cluster-crap in the first place.

Remember, it’s one person’s opinion.  Just because he represents the company, that doesn’t mean all of his employees will agree with him, privately or personally.

That also applies to those who patronize Chik-Fil-A.  Have you considered at all on Wednesday that at least half of the people who were in line to order may not be “supporting” Chik-Fil-A?  Some of them were trying to get in on the action and get attention for themselves, and a few of them genuinely don’t care what the CEO or you think about gay marriage.

They’re hungry and need to eat something.  When did it become a political crusade to stop someone from eating over something you don’t agree with?

I’m no Democrat, Republican, liberal, or conservative.  I hear opinions from all sides every single day.  Some I’m cool with, some I’m uneasy with, but the point here is this:  for those of you who are making a stink over it, you’re grasping for straws.

Yes, you didn’t like what he said.  I get it.  Everyone “got” it.  Big frickin’ deal.  You’re an adult, they’re just words, grow up, and stop acting like someone’s out to disagree with your view of the world at every move.

Spend more time not letting people’s opinion bother the hell out of you, and spend less worrying incessently about it.

Ernie Anastos, do your thing (Warning:  NSFW and NSAK [not safe around kids]):

 

