Don’t Like It? Then Don’t Follow or Tweet About It

People have different ways to mourn and remember an individual.  I have learned that you can’t tell people how to mourn and remember.  Frankly, it’s none of my business to tell people that they have no business spending their time on something that isn’t a big deal to me.  

With that said, there has been a disturbing trend of certain people feeling the need to admonish or lecture people on social media (Twitter and Facebook in particular) about who to mourn, how to mourn, and telling them that one person’s death is more important as someone else’s death.  

Personally, I think it’s insulting and revolting.  No one person’s death is important that another person’s death.  In fact, there are no comparisons and should be no comparisons.   

Last I checked, I never tweeted, Facebooked, or told anyone that they should stop mourning Whitney Houston and mourn servicemen and servicewomen because they are more important than Houston. 

And neither should you.  If you don’t want to read the tweets or the posts about Whitney Houston, Jerry Sandusky, SOPA/PIPA, or anyone else, let me give you one advice: 

Get off of Twitter for a while, or better yet, stop bitching about it.  If I can ignore all of the Houston tribute tweets, why is it so difficult for you to do that?  No, you don’t have an excuse.  You can ignore and follow the threads or topics that you care about. 

But stop getting on social media and blasting people who care about things that you don’t care about.  I don’t care much for some topics, so I don’t tweet or write about them. 

It’s simple as that. 

People who complain and whine are individuals who look for something to complain and whine about.  If you don’t have a vested interest in a news story or topic, ignore it and move on.  Like an adult. 

Houston’s daughter has more important things to deal with. 

Like burying her mother. 

Not reading what jackasses like me are tweeting about. 

One thought on “Don’t Like It? Then Don’t Follow or Tweet About It

  1. Well said. Actually, I could not have said it any better… any comment that I post right now won’t even make the cut XD
    I may not have tweeted anything about her recently… however, Whitney Houston’s death saddened me. One, because her daughter was losing a mother. Two, her music was something that I grew up with. It was something that was always playing in my house when I was a child, along with Celine, Mariah, and many other early 90’s performers. (while I blasted Britney in the privacy of my own room. Lol.)
    It’s not my place to comment about her death or her personal affairs. That’s all 🙂

Leave a Reply

