What Is The Hype?

Whole Foods will open their first Iowa store in 2012 in West Des Moines.

On Wednesday, Whole Foods, a popular national organic natural food grocery store chain, announced that they are opening their first Iowa store in West Des Moines.  Similar to Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods is a niche grocery chain that is popular everywhere else. But in order to visit those stores, many from the Des Moines metro area have to travel out of state to shop there.

While it’s great and estastic news to those to know that their dream stores are finally coming to Iowa, a light bulb went off in my head last night.

How is it that people go crazy when something new comes to town and I don’t feel the vibe? 

When Trader Joe’s came to town, people were falling all over themselves with glee because a Trader Joe’s is finally coming to Iowa.  When Quinton’s Bar and Deli moved into the old space occupied by the former Grand Piano Bistro Restaurant in East Village, the response was “Oh, the Quinton’s in Iowa City is awesome!  I’m so glad it’s coming here!”

I have never heard of Trader Joe’s or Quinton’s before the news they announced that they were opening here in town.

Seriously, I’m not kidding.  I knew nothing of these places until they came.

I’m a simple guy.  If I need a certain type of food or groceries, I head to the grocery store.  If I want a bite to eat and I’m too lazy to cook, whatever place looks interesting, I’ll try it out.

Quinton's Bar and Deli

But, I’m not going to do backflips (I’m not flexible, plus I’m not 9-years old) over a new store or restaurant because everyone else is.  I’m lucky to travel out-of-state, even if it’s across the Mississippi to Moline to visit my mom.  And even with that in mind, I’m not campaigning for a Whitey’s Ice Cream Shop, or a Mama Nick’s Circle Pizzeria to be built in Des Moines, just for my personal satisfaction.

A store is a store, a bar is a bar, a hardware store is a hardware store…you know what where I’m going with this.

The allure of a new place is all about “the experience”.  The quality and the service will be the barometer if it survives or cease operations.

One thought on “What Is The Hype?

  1. I do love me some Two-Buck Chuck from Trader Joe’s. And their orange chicken is righteous.

    But you’re right, it doesn’t matter how hip the franchise is, it’s all about service.

Leave a Reply

