Deadly Strokes

I was never a big rap/hip-hop music listener.  There are some songs that I didn’t mind listening to, but I don’t have any opposition to it.  Many in my age group groan in displeasure if they ever catch me singing along to Motown or Barry Manilow (yes, I’ll admit that).

Nate Dogg (left) and Warren G (right). Nate Dogg died last week after complications from suffering two strokes. He was 41 years old.

 

Last week’s death of Nate Dogg, the “hook singer” to hits like “Regulate” with Warren G., wasn’t just a shock to many fans and listeners.

It’s a trend that my age group should start paying attention to:  strokes.

The growing number of strokes among younger adults under the age of 40 is rising.  A great friend of mine suffered a stroke at age 40.  A college classmate’s co-worker’s husband suffered one at age 32.  Nate Dogg had two of them, before dying at age 41.

This is alarming and scary.

As someone who has both sides of the family with a long history of heart disease, high blood pressure, and diabetes, I can’t help but to start adding stroke to an already full plate of health concerns I have to worry about.

What is causing this rise in strokes in younger people?  Stress?  Sedentary life?  Culture?

I don’t have an answer for it, but I do know this:  by taking better care of myself and my diabetes, I lessen the likelihood of having a heart attack, blindness, stroke, amputation, and kidney failure by a few extra years.

This week marked the 1st anniversary of the new health care bill that was signed into law.  For many who are unemployed and are having to weigh between taking care of their health or keeping a roof over their heads and food on the plate, we can only hope that the healthcare plan works.

If it doesn’t, do not be afraid to review what doesn’t work and fix it.

But beyond that, we have to take better care of ourselves.  Some of us “youngins'” are not as healthy as we think we are.

Superman eventually will have to call in sick one day.

Leave a Reply

